Sundays are pretty much all about food…

My favorite things about Sundays are sleeping in, and Mike making breakfast. Sometimes I try to do my part by making a late lunch/early dinner.  Today is was a variation of Pioneer Woman’s shredded pork. She uses something spicy in hers. If you’ve known me for more than 5 minutes, you know ketchup is a little over the top for me…

So I skipped the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, but I followed most of the rest of her recipe, found here:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2011/03/spicy-dr-pepper-shredded-pork/

We made soft tacos and had rice to go with it.

I’m fairly creative when it comes to cooking… meaning I will try stuff and adjust recipes. Sometimes it works and sometimes, well, not so much. Today I did something so simple it was shocking and I feel like an idiot for not realizing this years ago.  I made rice-in-a-bag (because that’s what I had on hand), but I wanted Spanish rice. So, I added half a jar of salsa to the cooked rice. DUH – instant Spanish Rice! And none of the chemical powder!  No pictures of that, because I didn’t think of it at the time… and now it’s mostly gone.  LOL.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. claudia
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 08:50:54

    mmm, that does look good! I bought Tabasco brand Chipotle so I could add a “drop” or two to some of my food… just enough not to hurt me 😉 I will have to show you my secret packet from the Spanish section at Cub for spanish rice – it does however contain MSG which of course is evil but does make stuff taste good ;D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

