Saturday… but what month is it?

I feel like I’ve been disconnected from my life lately. Pretty sure everyone knows my Dad went into the hospital back in April. It started with a sore on his toe and escalated to a bunch of problems, including a possible diagnosis of Mesothelioma.

It turned out not to be cancer, thankfully, but there were a number of procedures involved and a six-week hospital stay (including a week or so in Transitional Care).

My Dad’s back home but he’s pretty weak and VERY CRABBY. We went to the doctor yesterday. He brought up the idea of Assisted Living. I thought my Dad wasn’t listening but apparently he was. Because this morning he got really snarky about a few things. He seems to believe “they’re trying to get everything I have”… whoever THEY are…

So, I don’t know what’s going to happen. I have to give him an insulin shot every morning. Mostly because he absolutely refuses to consider doing it himself. I asked the doctor about the insulin pump yesterday but he said Medicare won’t pay for it in my Dad’s case because his body still produces insulin. I would consider buying it myself but it’s about $8,000. For the next couple weeks the nurse will give him the shot but that’s only temporary.

Do I sound like I’m compaining? I guess I am. I’m frustrated. I’m feeling like a hypocrite because I’m one of those people who thinks Social Security should be privatized and Medicare should be done away with. But then what would happen to people like my Dad who never gave a thought to what might happen if he lived past retirement…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. claudia
    May 23, 2011 @ 06:48:34

    No you don’t sound like you’re complaining! You’re just talking out loud to make sense of things… I’m so sorry Michele, I know all too well how you are feeling. It’s exasperating and draining. I’m so thankful for your Dad that he has you though to be his advocate and I’m sure he is too even though he may never tell you. If you’re up this way and want to stop in just call me, probably a Saturday since it sounds like you’ve used up a lot of days off.
    Love ya… Claudia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

