Mad skills

Lately I’ve been kind of obsessed about what I would be able to do if things got any worse with the economy. I don’t mean where would I go or anything like that, I mean specifically how would I help the family. And I realized that while I’m probably a pretty good cook, there wasn’t much else from a skill perspective that I had to offer. I can’t shoot a deer or an elk and there’s not much chance of me ever butchering a chicken. So, I decided it was time to learn a few things.  The first thing is how to make bread from scratch.

Okay, I admit I cheated and used the KitchenAid mixer, which I couldn’t do if we lost power, but I wanted to make sure I got this right at least once. I will probably try it a few more times without using the mixer.

Here’s my first attempt:

Then I decided to branch out and try making a pie:

Which looked much better than it tasted. I’m going to have to try that again but not use the spice mix I used for this one. BLECH.

And finally, another attempt at the bread:

I figured out what I did wrong with the first loaf.  I corrected it for the second two loaves, but the ones above are actually my third attempt and they didn’t rise as much as the second set.  Those went to Darlene’s for Thanksgiving and I didn’t get a chance to photograph them. If I try this recipe again, I won’t split it into two loaves. If I do that, the bread may actually turn out.

My next adventure will be to learn to can. And make jam. Although considering how successful my recent kitchen adventures have been, maybe I should learn to sew or something else instead…

Leave a Reply

