Grandma Gin’s Vases


Grandma Gin’s Vases

Originally uploaded by michelewithonel

I don’t remember my Grandmother Virginia. I think she died when I was pretty little, but I lived with her for a short while according to family lore.

She did a great job of keeping memories. She had this really wonderful scrapbook (which is now in my possession) where she kept all the cards and bits of important information about her family. Since I didn’t really know any of my biological grandparents, this was one of the best things I could have been given.

In addition to keeping a great scrapbook, she also collected vases from around the world. I’m not sure how many of these she bought herself, but it doesn’t really matter. It’s one of the few things I have of hers and they (along with that scrapbook) are some of my greatest treasures. I’m jealous of Mike when it comes to family history. He knows where he came from, who he’s related to all the way back to the beginning of this country. I’ve just got bits and pieces and they don’t go back too far. But I do have Grandma Gin’s vases and that’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

